Odota...
Wait...
Functions in Korppi Korppi

14.12.0

Log in!
Jun/18/2019 14:48

BENJ1001 Post Graduate Seminar, 2 ECTS, Please, sign up for the BENS9111 too.

Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences

Announcement:
The language used was temporarily changed. Personal information page allows you to save your language settings.

Log in to register.

General information

Begins - ends: 1.9.17 - 31.7.20
Registration period: 18.4.17 at 0:00 - 31.7.20 at 23:59
Instructor(s): [F]yliopistotutkija Ines Klemme (ines.klemme@jyu.fi)
[F]akatemiaprofessori, professor Johanna Mappes (johanna.r.mappes@jyu.fi)
Postdoctoral researcher Aigi Margus (aigi.margus@gmail.com)
Lecturer Varpu Marjomäki (varpu.s.marjomaki@jyu.fi)
Postdoctoral researcher Ossi Nokelainen (ossi.nokelainen@jyu.fi)
Postdoctoral researcher Cyril Rigaud (cyril.c.rigaud@jyu.fi)
Johannes Schilder (j.c.schilder@gmail.com)
[F]apulaisprofessori, [F]yliopistonlehtori Lotta-Riina Sundberg (lotta-riina.sundberg@jyu.fi)
[F]yliopistotutkija Silva Uusi-Heikkilä (silva.k.uusi-heikkila@jyu.fi)
Credits: 2 ECTS cr.
Languages: language(s) of instruction: English; completion language(s): English
Registered: 44
Organisations:Biological and Environmental Science (BEN), Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences (BIO)
Contents:Seminar for doctoral students who are about to submit their doctoral thesis for evaluation. The length of the talk is 30–40 minutes with 15 min for discussion. The talk should include a broad theoretical background, description of the methods, a summary of results and conclusions. The talk should not consist of separate presentations of the articles in the dissertation but instead the experiments should be synthesized, forming a coherent entity. Due to the limited time allocated for the talk, it is not necessary to include all results in the presentation.
Learning outcomes:After completing this course the student:
- will have experience in delivering a full length scientific seminar talk
- learn to discuss their own scientific results with other scientists
- learn how to respond to questions
- will learn to ask questions and discuss others research when attending to other students seminars
Completion mode:To complete the course, a doctoral student must give a full length seminar and attend at least 10 other doctoral students’ seminars during their postgraduate studies.
Evaluation:
Grade scale

Pass-fail

Assessment criteria

Assessment for the course: pass-fail.

To get a passing grade, the student is required to give a seminar according to the guidelines.